Burning Man in postcards

Indiana June
6 min readNov 20, 2014

I attended Burning Man for the first time in 2014 and instead of recording my experience through photographs, instead I painted watercolour postcards. As I met people at the festival, I took their home addresses and posted 50 unique artworks across the world. Enjoy this unique perspective on what is an utterly indescribable festival.

The theme for Burning Man 2014 was Caravansary and all the public art created was an interpretation of this theme in some way.

The logo or symbol of Burning Man is so stunningly simple, representing a human figure in just 3 strokes.

As we pulled up at Black Rock City there was a giant neon sign that read: WELCOME HOME.

These two words were repeated to me dozens of times over the following week — normally by people I had never met before.

The landscape was truly breathtaking, within the barren desert you could see every colour of the rainbow.

Sunrise and sunset
possessed a captivating magic.

When you sat back you would see silhouettes of giant sculptures on the playa waiting to be explored.

Whenever I go to a new place I like to look up
and draw the cloudimals I see in the shapes of the clouds.

This is a marvelous moustached being that floated above my spinning head and a regal peacock drifted through my consciousness.

Nothing can prepare you for the scale and wonder of the art you will encounter at Burning Man.

From spiritual temples to shed your fears and your tears to wild and wacky structures that literally leave the tongue hanging out of your head.

The good news is that there is no judgement here.

One day I took a bike ride out to the deep playa and came across this metal hand. Another time I used the Toilet Bowl amenities, handily located next to the porta-loos!

This ENORMOUS art piece was so large, you could climb up ladders inside and look out through the eye windows. When it burned on Wednesday morning I felt a sense of loss while marveling at the impermanence of this unique festival.

Two people from my camp discovered this rocking horse, there’s so much art you‘d need a year to see it all. On the Saturday night The Man burns as 60,000 odd revellers party in his demise.

One of the highlights of Burning Man is the public transport system that is made up of hundreds of ART CARS. Anything on wheels goes from pirate ships or a flame throwing octupus. Just jump on and jump off…

This buggy had orange flags that matched the vibrant setting sun. The pink flamingo was a personal favourite, not a bad way to get around the desert!

The beatbox bus would drive out to the deep playa, park and throw a mini dance party wherever it pulled up.

The two-man teeth chattering vehicle took me back to my childhood. The rhino was made of sheet metal, a true work of animal-inspired art.

You can either camp on your own or join/create a theme camp. I was lucky enough to be part of Camp Anita Cocktail and we served up cups of fun and free cocktails to anyone who wandered by.

The Barbie Death camp had 1400 barbies in all manner of tortured positions. The Tiki Bar had a naked-only policy. Robo Heart was a sunrise dancy party that blew many a mind.

What do you do for a week in the desert? Life drawing for one.

At Centre Camp there are ‘Spoken Word’ talks going on. I had a reiki healing, sound therapy, a foot massage and even had my aura officially ‘fluffed’.

But Burning Man is just a construct,
it’s the ‘Burners’ (attendees) that give
the festival it’s heart & flavour.

I was given the playa name of ‘Pirate’ for the festival — normally in your first year someone gifts you a new name… so I ran with it.

I gave one of our campers his new name ‘Skywalker’.
The costumes people wore were nothing short of fabulous.

That’s all folks.

Thanks for stopping by
my Postcard gallery.

--

--

Indiana June

Chief Community Officer @CodeBots_ I connect strategy and storytelling to transform business objectives into a community mission #community #sketchnotes